Monday, February 5, 2018

Interview with Children Book Authors Patrick & Shani Muhammad @playintopay


South Florida based janitor turned serial entrepreneur, Patrick Muhammad took what some would call an unconventional route to his newest venture.  “What I do now has evolved.  It truly took my passion and has turned it into a profession for me. I can see myself mentoring and sharing my story with young people easily for the next 20 years.  I love talking to young people and showing them, what entrepreneurship looks like. I love sharing my stories of how I came to be.  I didn’t just wake up one day and have all the answers.  My wife and I bumped our head A LOT.  I just want to say to them, look…here’s the blueprint.  Start now, don’t wait until you’re 30.  Passion has no age requirement, and has no limit on how many you can have. I started out as a janitor, then became a baker now I am into motivational speaking. They just have to have the passion and guidance. Anything is possible.”

“Patrick Turns His Play Into Pay” is the 1st book in a series of children’s books authored by husband and wife writing partners, Shani and Patrick Muhammad. The idea for the book was created one night while trying to explain the reason there was a gigantic, neon, pink and orange food-truck, now sitting in their front yard to their then 4 year-old Qadeer.   Patrick and his wife came up with the idea that they would write a keepsake item for all their children, detailing the road they took to becoming entrepreneurs.  The primary message is simple. By tapping into your passion early in life you can turn your playdays into paydays.  Once the book was published they both realized that the story could not only inspire their own children to entrepreneurship, but others as well. Shani figured out how to self-publish it and Patrick would take it to different youth groups in his community.   “I began shopping the book around to childcare centers and non-profits that served young people in the projects and the adults loved it.  “They really loved the idea that it was based on a true story and that the message was coming from a black male perspective. A story their children could relate to.  The images were brown like them and I just always got a positive response.  We took that book everywhere with us, and the response was this is a message that’s needed.  Children can’t be what they can’t see.”
Patrick currently lives in South Florida with his wife and three of his youngest five children.  He has a passion for planting the seed of entrepreneurship and carving out wealth building opportunities for his children’s generation. When he’s not writing books he’s on tour, speaking to groups of young people about basic principles of financial literacy and the benefits of early investing using cryptocurrency as a vehicle to establish future financial goals. When he’s not doing that…he’s on a creek with a fishing pole in his hand.

Shani Muhammad has been married to Patrick for 17 years now.  Together they have 5 children and 3 grandchildren.   Shani has spent the past 15 years in a classroom as a teacher. She too is a serial entrepreneur and has in the past owned a one-price shoe store, group homes and several online businesses. When she’s not working on the next children’s book in their series, she too enjoys researching and investing in crypto currencies and planning her family’s next “staycation.”

WEBSITE & SOCIAL LINKS:

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK



About the Book:


The first book in a series, "Patrick Turns His Play Into Pay", details the journey of an entrepreneur, through the eyes of a child. The book uses vivid illustrations and lively words, to explain the road little Patrick took into the world of entrepreneurship.  It demonstrates the benefits of tapping into your passion early in life.  “Patrick” tapped into his passion of baking to help solve a money problem.  This book also shows the ups and downs of being an entrepreneur.  You witness a 9-year old take the power and control of his future into his own hands. You also see what happens when “Patrick” finds help in a friend, to help grow his business. Above all, this book motivates both young and young at heart and serves as a reminder that we all have the ability to turn our playdays into paydays.



ORDER YOUR COPY:


Thanks for this interview, Patrick.  I’ve always wanted to write children’s books.  When did you determine that writing for children was for you?

Growing up I never wanted to be a writer. Prior to writing this book, I was a janitor for 25 years. I kind of fell into writing.

The idea for the book was created one night while trying to explain the reason there was gigantic, neon, pink and orange food-truck, now sitting in their front yard to our then, 4 year-old Qadeer.   My wife and I came up with the idea that we would write a keepsake item for our children and God-willing…grandchildren, detailing the road we took to becoming entrepreneurs.  The primary message is simple. By tapping into your passion early in life you can turn your play days into paydays.


What was the inspiration behind your children’s book, Patrick Turns His Play Into Pay?

My children and grandchildren were my inspiration.

How do you get into the mind of a child to create a fun reading experience?  Are you around kids?  Are you a kid at heart?

I just imagined the book being read by my then, 4 year-old Qadeer. Also, I’m a kid at heart.  The main character in my book is named “Little Patrick”. That’s basically me.

What was your favorite book as a child?

The Bass Pro fishing catalog book.

What kind of advice would you give writers who would like to write children’s books?

Don’t write books that preach or lecture and don’t talk down to them. Their smaller than adults, not dumber.


What are your goals for the future?  More children’s books?

Yes, this is the 1st book in a series. The next one takes you on a journey using crypto-currency. Of course, it too will be a picture book. It’s entitled Patrick Turns His Play Into Pay using Bitcoins.

Tuesday, January 2, 2018

Interview with Children's Book Author David John @miteemite #children #books



David John is the author of The Adventures of Mitee Mite book and app series. The series follows the adventures of superhero Mitee Mite and her sidekick, Terry the Ticker. The five titles in the series are The Time Frame Game (Hardcover ISBN: 978-0-9860919-0-2; Softcover ISBN: 978-0-9860919-6-4), The Measuring Game (Softcover ISBN: 978-0-9860919-2-6), The Money Game (Softcover ISBN: 978-0-9860919-4-0), The Shape Game (Softcover ISBN: 978-0-9860919-3-3), and The Time Frame Game Advanced (Softcover ISBN: 978-0-9860919-5-7). Complementary apps for each book are available on Google Play and iTunes.  The companion song is available at the website:  www.miteemite.com.

David lives in Scottsdale, Arizona, with his wife and daughter. He enjoys spending time with his family, playing hockey, and creating new stories for The Adventures of Mitee Mite book and app series.

WEBSITE & SOCIAL LINKS:

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK



About the Book:

Building on a desire to teach children about time, shapes, measurements, and money, author David John created THE ADVENTURES OF MITEE MITE series. In the same way that many of us learned our ABCs, the book and app (available on Google Play and iTunes) collection helps young
readers learn how many seconds are in a minute, the number of sides different shapes contain, and more, using a catchy tune that captures their attention and motivates learning.
Focusing on children from age 3 to 11 years old, THE ADVENTURES OF MITEE MITE book and app series offers its readers a dynamic female superhero, Mitee Mite, as their guide through the often tricky terrain involved with mastering time, shapes, measurements, and money. In her matching red cape and boots, Mitee Mite, accompanied by her alarm clock sidekick, Terry the Ticker, activates her superpowers by using her manners, respecting others, and accurately answering questions in the games she encounters during her adventures.

The five books in THE ADVENTURES OF MITEE MITE book and app series include The Time Frame Game and The Time Frame Game Advanced, which break down seconds, minutes, hours, days, months, and years to teach readers the fundamentals of time. The Measuring Game explores the components of feet, yards, and miles, as well as cups, pints, quarts, and gallons. Mitee Mite teaches kids about currency in The Money Game and dives into a colorful world of triangles, squares, hexagons, and more in The Shape Game. The companion song for this series (available at www.miteemite.com) helps kinds absorb the skills in an enjoyable and interactive way.
           
The idea for THE ADVENTURES OF MITEE MITE book and app series came about when David was faced with a dire challenge. “One day as I was babysitting my friends’ children, and not having any idea what to do, I made up fun games to help them learn,” David revealed. The goal of the series is to expose children to a variety of lessons in a manner that is fun, relatable, and memorable. David says, “Mitee Mite was created to help give children a head start on the basics of time, measurements, shapes, and money.”
David’s daughter, whom he calls his “Little Mite,” is the inspiration for the main character and the themes of the series. David’s desire to teach his daughter the basic skills featured in THE ADVENTURES OF MITEE MITE book and app series has expanded into the goal of sharing these lessons with other children through his “You Buy, They Read” program. “We plan to give away one book for every one bought to kids in need.” In addition, David will donate $1 for every $2 of the gross sales of apps to teachers “who are going into their own pockets to buy supplies.”

ORDER YOUR COPY:





Thanks for this interview, David.  I’ve always wanted to write children’s books.  When did you determine that writing for children was for you?

It happened by accident when I think about it.  Left with my friend’s children and not having any idea what to do, I would make up fun games to help them learn time basics. And that’s how The Adventure of Mitee Mite was created.
We now have five titles.
The Time Frame Game (this was the first)
The Measurement Game
The Shape Game
The Money Game
The Advanced Time Frame Game

The Time Frame Game App is on iTunes and Google Play. The other four books are bundled into an App that you can purchase for $.99 Four for $.99.

What was the inspiration behind your children’s book series which include The Adventures of Mitee Mite , Five Titles, The Time Frame Game , The Measurement Game, The Shape Game , The Money Game, and The Advanced Time Frame Game?

Just to enjoy watching kids have fun and learning at the same time.

How do you get into the mind of a child to create a fun reading experience?  Are you around kids?  Are you a kid at heart?

Ours is really special kids learn because of the catchy tunes and they really catch on because of the music. I will always be a kid a heart I still am playing hockey and play with my 5 year old.

What was your favorite book as a child?

Doctor Sues Green Eggs and Ham .. Now that I think about I probably really enjoyed the rhyming.

What are your goals for the future?  More children’s books?

We are going to convert the first five Titles in different languages. I already have created a new series that include learning numbers and the alphabet. I have a planet game and a nutrition game.

We also have created a story around Mitee Mite and Terry The Ticker how she gets her super power with good manners, nutrition and Terry  The Ticker make sure she is always on time.

Our big mission is to give a book away for every one we sell. You Buy They Read
We also plan on giving away a dollar of every two dollars we bring in to the Teachers who are buying supplies out of their own pockets.


Tuesday, October 3, 2017

Interview with Children's #Book #Author Galia Oz #dogtrouble



Galia Oz was born in Kibbutz Hulda, Israel, in 1964. She studied film and Television in Tel Aviv University 1984-87.

Her award winning series of 5 books titled DOG TROUBLE was published in France, Spain and Brazil – and recently in the US by CROWN BOOKS Random House. The series is a steady seller in Israel for over 10 years (selling over 150,000 copies). 

Oz has directed several documentaries, all screened in international film festivals, and in Israeli leading television channels.

Over the years, Galia Oz has been meeting thousands of readers in Israeli elementary schools, and taught creative writing and classic children's literature to kids in public libraries.

Galia Oz is married and has two kids, a dog and a cat, and they all live in Ramat Hasharon, just outside Tel-Aviv.


Thanks for this interview, Galia.  I’ve always admired children book authors (why I started this blog).  When did you determine that writing for children was for you?

Galia: Thank you for hosting me.

I never made an informed decision to write for children. I believe that writing is not something a person decides to do but something that happens to him, sort of like falling in love. If you have no choice and the story is boiling inside of you, waiting to escape, you will inevitably be a writer. You can perfect the technique, you can learn how to polish it, but underneath it all lays a rather irrational impulse.

Like the most of us, I probably have some unresolved issues with my childhood. Writing is my way to fix it, I guess. I've invented this world where I become an assertive and happy girl like Julie, the protagonist of the series.

What was the inspiration behind your children’s book for young readers, Dog Trouble!?

Galia: I wanted to write for children in the tradition of the books I grew up on, which had strong characters like Huckleberry Finn or Anne Shirley. I was looking for a voice that challenged the reader, that addressed the child's soul without preaching morality. Oh, and I wanted to be funny!

Part of it was to allow the protagonists to be imperfect, to fearlessly give up the fairy-tale ending and make place for a more true to life ending, and not to have the adults be the ones to put all the pieces together. And to show that they, too, have their weaknesses.

I cannot imagine my life without good realistic literature. Children deserve to read such literature, too, and contrary to our fears, it will only build their confidence. They get the opportunity to open a book and say to themselves: "Hey, I'm not the only one in trouble. The whole human race is.”

How do you get into the mind of a child to create a fun reading experience?  Are you around kids?  Are you a kid at heart?

Galia: In Israel, my books are quite well known, and in the last ten years I have been trekking across the country to meet with my readers in public schools and libraries. My two children are grown up now, but we still hang out and have laughs together. And I have six little nieces and nephews who come to visit and I read them piles of Dr. Seuss.

So I'm surrounded by children, but I never try to become a child when I write. I listen only to my strict inner judge. I do not know how to placate or even imagine an audience when I write. But yes, I'm probably a kid at heart. So I don’t have to make an effort to keep up with my readers.

What was your favorite book as a child?

Galia: Pippi Longstocking by Astrid Lindgren. A feminist hero, a fighter for justice, independent and strong and so funny! To this day, this book has a spell on me.

What kind of advice would you give writers who would like to write children’s books?

Galia: Put the best of yourself into the book, and don’t fake it. Your readers are sharp and perceptive.

What are your goals for the future?  More children’s books?

Galia: At the moment I'm working on a picture book, the central character of which is a cat. The book revolves around the philosophical question of how we can love and be so enamored by our cats, despite their indifference toward us. Unrequited love is always a good subject, right?
About the Book:

Title: DOG TROUBLE!
Author: Galia Oz
Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 144
Genre: Children's book for young readers, ages 8-12

BOOK BLURB:
Readers who have graduated from Junie B. Jones and Ivy & Bean will fall head over heels for feisty Julie and her troublesome new dog.
 
Julie has only had her dog for two weeks, but she is already causing all sorts of problems. For starters, she is missing! Julie suspects the school bully Danny must be behind it. But it will take some detective work, the help of Julie’s friends, and maybe even her munchkin twin brothers to bring her new pet home.

Wonderfully sassy and endlessly entertaining, the escapades of Julie and her dog are just beginning!

Julie’s adventures have sold across the globe and been translated into five languages. Popular filmmaker and children’s author Galia Oz effortlessly captures the love of a girl and her dog.

"A funny exploration of schoolyard controversy and resolution.” –Kirkus Reviews 

"Will resonate with readers and have them waiting for more installments.” –Booklist  

ORDER YOUR COPY:

Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Wednesday, September 6, 2017

5 Great Books for the First Day of School

The First day of school can be quite an emotional time not only for the little ones but for parents as well. I have found five cute books that will help parents and their children cope with that dreaded first day of school:


First Day Jitters (Mrs. Hartwells classroom adventures) by Julie Danneberg and illustrated by Judy Love - Everyone knows that sinking feeling in the pit of the stomach just before diving into a new situation. Sarah Jane Hartwell is scared and doesn't want to start over at a new school. She doesn't know anybody, and nobody knows her. It will be awful. She just knows it. With much prodding from Mr. Hartwell, Sarah Jane reluctantly pulls herself together and goes to school. She is quickly befriended by Mrs. Burton, who helps smooth her jittery transition. This charming and familiar story will delight readers with its surprise ending. Fun, energetic illustrations brighten page after page with the busy antics surrounding Sarah Jane. FIRST DAY JITTERS is an enchanting story that is sure to be treasured by anyone who has ever anticipated a first day of school.

Curious George's First Day of School by H.A. Rey -  It’s the first day of school, and Curious George has been invited to Mr. Apple’s class to be a special helper! George is just the right monkey for the job—until he starts to wreak his usual havoc, that is. Red and yellow paint makes orange, yellow and blue makes green . . . and a mixture of all the paint colors makes a big mess! Curious George and the First Day of School is a story based on H. A. and Margret Rey’s popular primate and painted in the original watercolor and charcoal style.

Amelia Bedelia's First Day of School by Herman Parish and illustrated by Lynne Avril - Amelia Bedelia is sure she will love everything about the first day of school: new friends; new teacher; her own desk; music, books, gym, art; recess and lunch. Amelia Bedelia can't wait. What could be better? School! School! Hooray for school!

The Night Before Preschool by Natasha Wing and illustrated by Amy Wummer - It's the night before preschool, and a little boy named Billy is so nervous he can't fall asleep. The friends he makes the next day at school give him a reason not to sleep the next night, either: he's too excited about going back! The book's simple rhyming text and sweet illustrations will soothe any child's fears about the first day of school.

First Day of School by Anne Rockwell and illustrated by Lizzy Rockwell -  Anne and Lizzy Rockwell's delightful picture book series about Mrs. Madoff's class has explored some special occasions at school, including Career Day, St. Patrick’s Day, and Presidents' Day. Now the respected mother-daughter writer-illustrator team is taking on another BIG day in First Day of School. Kids will understand the excitement and nervousness of the children in Mrs. Madoff’s class as they get ready for the first day of school after summer vacation. They’ve all changed a little. Nicholas has a grown-up new haircut. Jessica has learned how to make her own lunch. And Ethan has his very own house key! As the kids get into their back-to-school rituals, they know one thing for sure: this year is sure to be great!



Friday, July 7, 2017

Interview with Children's Book Author Miri Leshem-Pelly





Miri Leshem-Pelly is the author-illustrator of 14 children’s books. She’s also illustrated 14 books for other writers. When Miri isn’t writing she can be found speaking at schools, kindergartens and libraries. She is invited to do more than 200 presentations with her books per year. Miri is also a Regional Advisor for SCBWI (Society of Children’s book writers & illustrators).
Miri is represented by Olswanger Literary Agency.

Miri’s works have won awards and her illustrations have been shown on several exhibitions.
Miri lives in Israel with her husband and two children, and loves reading books and going on nature hikes.

Her latest book is Scribble & Author.

WEBSITE & SOCIAL LINKS:

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK



About the Book:

Title: SCRIBBLE & AUTHOR          
Author: Miri Leshem-Pelly
Publisher: Kane Miller Books
Pages: 32
Genre: Picture Book for Authors

Scribble & Author is written as a dialogue between the main character, Scribble, and the author who created her. 
Scribble's journey starts on a peaceful shore called THE BEGINNING, continues to the rough, adventurous MIDDLE, and leads finally to the gate of THE ENDING, but it’s not at all what Scribble expected… Scribble is a scribble and Author is an author, but who really gets to tell the tale?
A picture book about finding your own voice, making your own decisions, and writing your own story.
Watch the book trailer at Vimeo.

ORDER YOUR COPY:


Thanks for this interview, Miri Leshem-Pelly.  I’ve always wanted to write children’s books.  When did you determine that writing for children was for you?

I always loved books, especially picture books, and ever since my childhood I’ve been writing and drawing just for fun, as a hobby. When I was an art student I realized that illustrating children’s books is my dream. I started illustrating stories by other writers and then I thought - wait a minute. I can write too. Why don’t I illustrate my own stories? My first book as author/illustrator was published when I was 26 years old, and since then I had 14 children’s books published as an author/illustrator.

What was the inspiration behind your children’s book, Scribble & Author?

I was thinking about my self as an author and my relationships with my characters, and realized something interesting: Authors love their characters very much, but they also must put their main characters into trouble, in order to create a plot. That led me to imagine what would it be like if I could talk with a character that I’ve created. What’s going to happen to the story if the character could interact with his author? So I decided to write down this dialogue and see where it would lead me…

How do you get into the mind of a child to create a fun reading experience?  Are you around kids?  Are you a kid at heart?

I’m a mother of two children, but I started writing and illustrating for kids before I became a mom. So I guess the answer is that I am still a kid at heart, and I love it!
On my role as Regional Advisor of SCBWI chapter in Israel, I get to meet many other authors and illustrators of children’s book, and I must say that most of them are truly fun people who never stopped listening to their inner child.

What was your favorite book as a child?

Oh, must I pick one? There were so many! The first one that pops to my head is Pippi Longstocking by Astrid Lindgren. As a child I was very much inspired by Pippi’s courage, strength and free spirit. I also enjoyed the humor and imagination in this story.

What kind of advice would you give writers who would like to write children’s books?

First, they must understand that writing a good children’s book, even a short picture book, takes a very long time. You must take it seriously and learn the craft. Join SCBWI - this is the best way to get all the professional knowledge about the craft and business sides of creating children’s books. And one last advise - join a critique group for children’s books writers. I’m part of such a group and I owe them much of my success.

What are your goals for the future?  More children’s books?

Of course! Creating picture books is my favorite activity in the world. I hope to continue doing just that as long as I can.

Monday, May 1, 2017

Children's Book Author Interview: Nancy Stewart, author of 'Mystery at Manatee Key'



Nancy Stewart has been an elementary school teacher and a professor of education.  Having lived in London for ten years, she was a consultant to the University of Cambridge. She is the author of the Bella and Britt series picture books and the authorized biography of Katrina Simpkins, a young girl whose life was forever changed by Winter, the dolphin (Guardian Angel Publishing.)  Her writing of One Pelican at a Time was featured on the PBS special, GulfWatch in 2011.  Nancy’s YA-LGBT novel will be published by Interlude Press autumn of 2017.  She is a member of the Rate Your Story organization as a critique judge.

WEBSITE & SOCIAL LINKS:

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK


About the Book:

Bella and Britt love to explore along the beach and at more remote places like Manatee Key as well.  It is there that they discover a manatee smuggling ring. 

The manatees have already been netted, so the girls must act fast!  But a kidnapper snatches Bella, hustling her into their hideout.  When Britt sneaks a look in the window, she discovers that the ranger is being held, too.  Now it’s up to Britt.  But what can a single girl do?

Mystery at Manatee Key is available at Amazon


Thanks for this interview, Nancy.   I’ve always wanted to write children’s books.  When did you determine that writing for children was for you?

As a university professor, I always wrote academic material; papers, journal articles and such.  I also taught courses in Children’s and Young Adult Literature.  But it was not until about ten years ago that I decided to put the two together and write my own books.  And I’ve never looked back!

What was the inspiration behind your children’s book, Mystery at Manatee Key?

Actually, this book is the fourth in the Bella and Britt Series, all published by Guardian Angel Publishing.  I’ve always wanted Britt to shine and take the lead in one of the books, and this one is it.  She single-handedly must figure out a way to extricate Bella and the beach ranger from a group of smugglers.  Also, living in Florida, I have a penchant for manatees; such timid creatures that need much protection from all the way-too-fast boats and Jet Ski traffic filling our waters.

How do you get into the mind of a child to create a fun reading experience?  Are you around kids?  Are you a kid at heart?

I eavesdrop (in the nicest way possible) and would recommend this habit for all authors and aspiring authors!  Listening to kids interact with each other and with adults is a necessity for those of us who need a child’s voice when writing for them.  A kid at heart?  No, but I do have great empathy with children and respect their dignity, and that position carries me through my books.

What was your favorite book as a child?

My favorite picture book when I was a small child was Robert McCloskey’s Make Way   for Ducklings.  I’ve always adored animals of all sorts, and this book spoke to me in a visceral manner that I still recall.

What kind of advice would you give writers who would like to write children’s books?

Read. Read. Read.  Go to the library and check out all the books of the genre that interests you, and digest them.  Join a writers’ critique group.  Writing is a solitary vocation, and interacting with other authors is so very important.  And join SCBWI (Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators.)  This is our professional association and is rich in information, support, and writing wisdom.  Do remember, though, that as we grow in our craft, our appetite may change from one genre to another.  This is so typical, and it happened to me!

What are your goals for the future?  More children’s books?

I have a young adult novel titled Beulah Land, which takes place in the Missouri Ozarks. The seventeen-year-old main character battles an out-to-get-her villain, a dog-fighting ring, and her mother, who harbors a secret that could be deadly to her daughter.  The book is being published by Interlude Press this coming autumn.  A totally different genre than picture books, I am very proud of it and of its message of staying strong and true to oneself, a hallmark of the growing-up process. 

Monday, April 3, 2017

Book Blast: Mystery at Manatee Key by Nancy Stewart


We welcome Nancy Stewart's MYSTERY AT MANATEE KEY Book Blast today!




Title: MYSTERY AT MANATEE KEY
Author: Nancy Stewart
Publisher: Guardian Angel Publishing
Pages: 36
Genre: Children’s Picture Book

Bella and Britt love to explore along the beach and at more remote places like Manatee Key as well.  It is there that they discover a manatee smuggling ring. 

The manatees have already been netted, so the girls must act fast!  But a kidnapper snatches Bella, hustling her into their hideout.  When Britt sneaks a look in the window, she discovers that the ranger is being held, too.  Now it’s up to Britt.  But what can a single girl do?

Mystery at Manatee Key is available at Amazon

 


Book Excerpt:
 
A dark animal circled slowly in the shallow water of Manatee Key. Walking closer, Bella whispered. “A baby manatee. And it has a patch of white near its snout.” Britt frowned. “But where’s the mother? It must be hungry. We should tell the ranger.”
“Yeah,” Bella said. “This one’s too young to be without her mom. Let’s go.”
The friends worked their way through the jungle-like brush back to their bicycles. Britt took the lead. “It’s really hot, but we gotta make time.” 
After a twenty minute ride down dusty paths leading to the main road in their coastal town, they reached the ranger station. “It’s quiet in here today,” Bella said.
 The ranger’s assistant glanced up from his reading. “Hi, girls. Can I help you?”
“We need to see the ranger and report an orphaned manatee,” Bella said.
He frowned. “She hasn’t come in today, and that’s not like her. I’ve called her phones. Nobody answered. And no one’s seen her. Have you by any chance?”
“No,” they answered at the same time.
 “Well, it’s a mystery,” he said. “I won’t call the police yet. But I’m getting worried. Now, about that manatee. Can you take me to it?”
 “Sure,” Britt said. “If you can bring us back to town. We rode our bikes here.” He nodded. “Of course.”


Nancy Stewart has been an elementary school teacher and a professor of education.  Having lived in London for ten years, she was a consultant to the University of Cambridge. She is the author of the Bella and Britt series picture books and the authorized biography of Katrina Simpkins, a young girl whose life was forever changed by Winter, the dolphin (Guardian Angel Publishing.)  Her writing of One Pelican at a Time was featured on the PBS special, GulfWatch in 2011.  Nancy’s YA-LGBT novel will be published by Interlude Press autumn of 2017.  She is a member of the Rate Your Story organization as a critique judge.

WEBSITE & SOCIAL LINKS:

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK




About the Author


Nancy Stewart has been an elementary school teacher and a professor of education.  Having lived in London for ten years, she was a consultant to the University of Cambridge. She is the author of the Bella and Britt series picture books and the authorized biography of Katrina Simpkins, a young girl whose life was forever changed by Winter, the dolphin (Guardian Angel Publishing.)  Her writing of One Pelican at a Time was featured on the PBS special, GulfWatch in 2011.  Nancy’s YA-LGBT novel will be published by Interlude Press autumn of 2017.  She is a member of the Rate Your Story organization as a critique judge.

WEBSITE & SOCIAL LINKS:

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK



http://www.pumpupyourbook.com