Tuesday, August 2, 2022

Children's Book Author Interview: Maria J. Andrade, author of 'Youngen Finds Her Song: An Inspiring Adventure From the Heart of Nature'



Maria J. Andrade is an author and licensed Marriage, Family Therapist. She has been writing books for children and adults on the themes of love, relationship, and earth stewardship, for over twenty years. Her novel based on a true story about three women’s lifelong friendship, Defiance and Redemption was recently published.

She believes peace in the world, begins under our own roof. Therefore, she wrote, Heart Magic, Keeping Love Alive & Well, a small guidebook for individuals to help them succeed in healthy, long-lasting relationships. These books are available in Spanish.

Her five books for children, including the eco-social bookYoungen Finds Her Song is an important and hopeful book for families to read together during these challenging times. It has been loved and enjoyed by children, parents, grandparents, and teachers across America.

You can visit her website at www.booksasfriends.com and connect with her on TwitterFacebookGoodreads and LinkedIn.


About the Book:

A young thrush named Youngen is having trouble finding her song. As she spends time with her friends who have beautiful feathers and nicer nests than her own, she starts to doubt herself and her parents. Rufus, a wise old owl, notices her discomfort and decides to take her on a journey to learn about the world.

As she travels with Rufus, she learns many things about the animals in the forest and about Humans – those strange animals that make war with each other, but also build magnificent cities. And she learns that Humans can also be loving and compassionate, when she finds her own life in danger. As Youngen learns about herself and the world around her, she spontaneously bursts into song – her own unique and very beautiful song.

Author Maria J. Andrade has written a sweet novel of a young bird coming of age. She shares tidbits of wisdom about animal life and their habits along the way, to educate while telling her story. Respect for the earth and all animal and plant life is demonstrated through Youngen’s words and actions. An uplifting book with a positive and timely message.  Youngen Finds Her Song is a delight to read!

 —Alice Berger, Berger’s Book Reviews

Book Information

Release Date: October 7, 2008

Publisher:  Clara Publishing

Soft Cover: ISBN: 978-0970634733; 108 pages; $29.59, Hardcover $12.01; E-Book, $7.99

Book Website: https://booksasfriends.com/books/

Amazon: https://amzn.to/3B2Xmme  


Thanks for this interview, Maria.  I've always wanted to write children's books.  When did you determine that writing for children was for you? 

I started out my career as a Marriage, Family, Child Therapist. I specialized in working with children. I  used the sand tray play method, stories, music, and poetry, to help children feel at ease in the therapy setting.  As the years went by, children showed me that there were many topics they were interested in and I found myself having a conversation with young people through the writing of stories. Often these stories focused on humor, the topics of friendship, and the wonders of the natural world around us.  I saw children responding to my stories so I decided to make them public for other children as well. It is such a delight when I am invited to a school to read one of my stories and I see and hear the children's reactions. I have written five children's books so far.

What was the inspiration behind your children's fiction, Youngen Finds Her Song?        

There is a lot of negativity that children are exposed to in the modern world. So I wanted to write a story that had hope and laughter in it and contained all the wonderful things we can be grateful for in our lives. This includes family, friends, community, the beauty and generosity of nature and the world ofSpirit which is in all that lives. So I wrote a book about a small, female, bird called, "Youngen" who has little self-confidence and doesn't appreciate herself or her family and I placed her on a fabulous, fun, filled, adventure to find her unique song. Actually, she discovers more than her song on this journey but it is her caretaker, an old owl, named, "Rufus" who suggests she start this adventure with him.     

 How do you get into the mind of a child to create a fun reading experience?  Are you around kids?  Are you a kid at heart?  

I mentioned that I specialized in counseling children but I am definitely a kid at heart. I had three children of my own by the time I was twenty-two. I had a lot of fun with them because I was young myself. Now, I have five grandchildren but I love being around children of all ages. I write for young people from ages five to eighteen.    

What was your favorite book as a child?

Depends what age you are talking about. I loved limericks and poetry as a kid. I also loved the Mary Poppins books. When I was very young the first book I read is one I never forgot. It was, Ben (The life of Benjamin Franklin as told by the mouse who lived in his house). As I got older I also loved The Wind In the Willows, and later, Moby Dick. Its hard to pick one book!

What kind of advice would you give to writers who would like to write children's books?

Think of a story that you think children would enjoy and that would help them grow by reading. Even if it is a topic others have written about you can write it in your own unique style.What are your goals for the future?  More children's books?I have written a story based on a lullaby I wrote. The story will include the lullaby in the QR code in the cover of the book. So children can see the story and hear the song by scanning the code! I hope it will be published in 2023.


Sunday, June 26, 2022

Book Review: Grandpa's Tales: Vampires in the Backyard and A Fish Tale by Cheryl Carpinello


Title
: Vampires in the Backyard and A Fish Tale

Author: Cheryl Carpinello
Publisher: Silver Quill Publishing
Genre: Children’s Picture Books (Ages 4 – 8)

BOOK BLURB:

Grandma and Grandpa’s Tales books 1-3 encourage early readers with fun stories incorporating difference aspects of nature. Book 1, Wild Creatures In My Neighborhood and What if I Went to the Circus, explores the wildlife around neighborhoods and introduces decision-making. Book 2Singers of Songs and The Not Too Stubborn Humpback, explores a common, but not so common insect, and lets readers see that being stubborn isn’t always good. Book 3Vampires in the Backyard and A Fish Tale, introduces readers to an extended metaphor and lets them decide if the fish story is real.

Book Information

Release Date: Grandma’s Tales #1 (2016), Grandma’s Tales #2 (2018), Grandma’s Tales #3 (2021), Grandpa’s Tales #1 (2016), Grandpa’s Tales #2 (2018), Grandpa’s Tales #3 (2021)

Publisher:  Silver Quill Publishing

Soft Cover: Grandma’s Tales #1 – 39 pages; $9.99

Grandma’s Tales #2 – 66 pages; $13.99

Grandma’s Tales #3 – 64 pages; $14.99

Grandpa’s Tales #1 – 39 pages; $9.99

Grandpa’s Tales #2 – 66 pages; $13.99

Grandpa’s Tales #3 – 64 pages; $14.99

Amazon Ma 1:  https://amzn.to/3374bEX

Amazon Pa 1:  https://amzn.to/3uHMKpA

Amazon Ma 2:  https://amzn.to/3Jan0X5

Amazon Pa 2: https://amzn.to/34HGt2g

Amazon Ma 3: https://amzn.to/3wELnJj

Amazon Pa 3: https://amzn.to/3GyXTLJ

Review:

Last but not least, I am reviewing the last book in the series by Cheryl Carpinello, Grandpa's Tales: Vampires in the Backyard and A Fish Tale and what a wonderful book to finish the series with!

First of all, like the others, this cover is so cute. We have Grandpa sitting in his rocker, fishing pole in tow, yet right beside him is a beware of vampires sign. Yikes! 

It starts out with the children in the backyard doing the usual kid things - chasing butterflies so forth. Nightime comes and the vampires come out only these aren't your usual run of the mill vampires and I don't want to give it away but it's something that's in everyone's backyard!

The next story is called A Fish Tale. George is going fishing all by himself. Only he was in for a surprise at what he caught! I won't give it away but I really felt sorry for little George. He was so proud that he was going all by himself and almost almost had "it" reeled in, then boom...and I can't give it away but this is also a cute cute story.

All in all, I was quite impressed with the author's creativity. She has given us so much pleasure through her books. Hoping for more!


Sunday, June 12, 2022

Book Review: Grandma's Tales: Singer of Songs and The Not Too Stubborn Humpback by Cheryl Carpinello


Title
: Grandma’s and Grandpa’s Tales: Singer of Songs & The Not Too Stubborn Humpback

Author: Cheryl Carpinello
Publisher: Silver Quill Publishing
Genre: Children’s Picture Books (Ages 4 – 8)

BOOK BLURB:

Grandma and Grandpa’s Tales books 1-3 encourage early readers with fun stories incorporating difference aspects of nature. Book 1, Wild Creatures In My Neighborhood and What if I Went to the Circus, explores the wildlife around neighborhoods and introduces decision-making. Book 2Singers of Songs and The Not Too Stubborn Humpback, explores a common, but not so common insect, and lets readers see that being stubborn isn’t always good. Book 3Vampires in the Backyard and A Fish Tale, introduces readers to an extended metaphor and lets them decide if the fish story is real.

Book Information

Release Date: Grandma’s Tales #1 (2016), Grandma’s Tales #2 (2018), Grandma’s Tales #3 (2021), Grandpa’s Tales #1 (2016), Grandpa’s Tales #2 (2018), Grandpa’s Tales #3 (2021)

Publisher:  Silver Quill Publishing

Soft Cover: Grandma’s Tales #1 – 39 pages; $9.99

Grandma’s Tales #2 – 66 pages; $13.99

Grandma’s Tales #3 – 64 pages; $14.99

Grandpa’s Tales #1 – 39 pages; $9.99

Grandpa’s Tales #2 – 66 pages; $13.99

Grandpa’s Tales #3 – 64 pages; $14.99

Amazon Ma 1:  https://amzn.to/3374bEX

Amazon Pa 1:  https://amzn.to/3uHMKpA

Amazon Ma 2:  https://amzn.to/3Jan0X5

Amazon Pa 2: https://amzn.to/34HGt2g

Amazon Ma 3: https://amzn.to/3wELnJj

Amazon Pa 3: https://amzn.to/3GyXTLJ

Review:

I am so enjoying Cheryl Carpinello's Grandma & Grandpa Tales! For this review, I will be reading and reviewing the second book in the series, Grandma's Tales: Singer of Songs and The Not Too Stubborn Humpback.

Before opening Singer of Songs, I tried to imagine what it would be about. Maybe bird creatures in the forest? How about whippoorwills; they kind of sing. Who else would be the singer of songs? When reading to my granddaughter, we try to guess what's inside and she guessed Snow White singing to the forest creatures, lol. So here we go. Who was right?

Crickets!!! Forgot all about those! We both lost that game but come out as winners as we dive into this delightful book.

In Singer of Songs, we learn all about crickets - the good and the bad. I am all for educational books that make it fun to read. Thumbs up on this one.

The second story, The Not Too Stubborn Humpback. Because the cover gave it away, we were figuring this must be about humpback whales. We were right! But mainly it's about Nemo, a young humpback whale that...you guessed it...was a little too stubborn for his good until it landed him in a lot of trouble, he got lost, couldn't find his mother but an unexpected event changed everything.

Dotted with fun facts and places where your child can draw different things the book asks for; they were so much surprise bonuses.

You will love both stories. Very very cute! Two thumbs up!

Sunday, May 8, 2022

Book Review: Grandma's Tales: Wild Creatures in My Neighborhood & What If I Went to the Circus? by Cheryl Carpinello

Title: Grandma’s and Grandpa’s Tales Books 1 – 6
Author: Cheryl Carpinello
Publisher: Silver Quill Publishing
Genre: Children’s Picture Books (Ages 4 – 8)

BOOK BLURB:

Grandma and Grandpa’s Tales books 1-3 encourage early readers with fun stories incorporating difference aspects of nature. Book 1, Wild Creatures In My Neighborhood and What if I Went to the Circus, explores the wildlife around neighborhoods and introduces decision-making. Book 2Singers of Songs and The Not Too Stubborn Humpback, explores a common, but not so common insect, and lets readers see that being stubborn isn’t always good. Book 3Vampires in the Backyard and A Fish Tale, introduces readers to an extended metaphor and lets them decide if the fish story is real.

Book Information

Release Date: Grandma’s Tales #1 (2016), Grandma’s Tales #2 (2018), Grandma’s Tales #3 (2021), Grandpa’s Tales #1 (2016), Grandpa’s Tales #2 (2018), Grandpa’s Tales #3 (2021)

Publisher:  Silver Quill Publishing

Soft Cover: Grandma’s Tales #1 – 39 pages; $9.99

Grandma’s Tales #2 – 66 pages; $13.99

Grandma’s Tales #3 – 64 pages; $14.99

Grandpa’s Tales #1 – 39 pages; $9.99

Grandpa’s Tales #2 – 66 pages; $13.99

Grandpa’s Tales #3 – 64 pages; $14.99

Amazon Ma 1:  https://amzn.to/3374bEX

Amazon Pa 1:  https://amzn.to/3uHMKpA

Amazon Ma 2:  https://amzn.to/3Jan0X5

Amazon Pa 2: https://amzn.to/34HGt2g

Amazon Ma 3: https://amzn.to/3wELnJj

Amazon Pa 3: https://amzn.to/3GyXTLJ

Review:

What a cute 2 for 1 book! Grandma's Tales: Wild Creatures in My Neighborhood and What If I Went to the Circus? is actually two delightful and fun to read stories within Grandma's and Grandpa's Tales by Cheryl Carpinello.

In the first story, Wild Creatures in My Neighborhood had me in fits of laughter and I'm not a kid! I love this story because not many kids realize that there's a whole bunch of animals that live in the city as well as the country. This is perfect for your city rug rat so that they realize that animals are not restricted to the country.

In What If I Went to the Circus?, the illustrations in this story were so cute! So the little boy goes to the circus and starts dreaming up ways to have the circus animals for pets, only one by one they get eliminated for very good reasons! At the circus, the child looks at the animals acting behaved and downright fun. They would make perfect pets! Oh no...the little boy takes each animal he would like to have as a pet and found reasons they would be better off at the circus.

How cute was this book! I give it a big thumbs up!

Tuesday, April 5, 2022

Children's Book New Release! Grandma's & Grandpa's Tales by Cheryl Carpinello

 Title: Grandma’s and Grandpa’s Tales Books 1 – 6

Author: Cheryl Carpinello
Publisher: Silver Quill Publishing
Genre: Children’s Picture Books (Ages 4 – 8)

BOOK BLURB:

Grandma and Grandpa’s Tales books 1-3 encourage early readers with fun stories incorporating difference aspects of nature. Book 1, Wild Creatures In My Neighborhood and What if I Went to the Circus, explores the wildlife around neighborhoods and introduces decision-making. Book 2Singers of Songs and The Not Too Stubborn Humpback, explores a common, but not so common insect, and lets readers see that being stubborn isn’t always good. Book 3Vampires in the Backyard and A Fish Tale, introduces readers to an extended metaphor and lets them decide if the fish story is real.

Book Information

Release Date: Grandma’s Tales #1 (2016), Grandma’s Tales #2 (2018), Grandma’s Tales #3 (2021), Grandpa’s Tales #1 (2016), Grandpa’s Tales #2 (2018), Grandpa’s Tales #3 (2021)

Publisher:  Silver Quill Publishing

Soft Cover: Grandma’s Tales #1 – 39 pages; $9.99

Grandma’s Tales #2 – 66 pages; $13.99

Grandma’s Tales #3 – 64 pages; $14.99

Grandpa’s Tales #1 – 39 pages; $9.99

Grandpa’s Tales #2 – 66 pages; $13.99

Grandpa’s Tales #3 – 64 pages; $14.99

Amazon Ma 1:  https://amzn.to/3374bEX

Amazon Pa 1:  https://amzn.to/3uHMKpA

Amazon Ma 2:  https://amzn.to/3Jan0X5

Amazon Pa 2: https://amzn.to/34HGt2g

Amazon Ma 3: https://amzn.to/3wELnJj

Amazon Pa 3: https://amzn.to/3GyXTLJ


About the Author:



Cheryl Carpinello
 taught high school English for 25 years. During that time, she worked with numerous students who didn’t like to read for a variety of reasons. However, she discovered that even the most reluctant readers became engaged in the classroom and in reading when she introduced units on King Arthur and the works of ancient world writers. Upon retiring, she set out to write fast-paced, action-filled stories in these setting to encourage young readers to read more. Her success with readers aged 8-16 led her to reach out to the youngest of readers and those readers just starting out. Revising stories she had written for her own children, she created Grandma/Grandpa’s Tales for ages 4-7.  Her four grandchildren’s conversations created the stories in Book 3 of this series.

Visit her on Twitter and Facebook.


Thursday, February 10, 2022

Book Review: Nomophobia by JD Wise



Title: NOMOPHOBIA
Author: JD Wise
Pages: 28
Genre: Children’s Picture Book

BOOK BLURB:

Welcome to NOMOPHOBIA – A PLACE IN TIME WHERE OVERUSED CELLULAR DEVICES TURN CHILDREN INTO OGRES.

This is a somewhat true, mostly exaggerated story of modern-day children – children who have spent way too much time on their phones. One night the children are mysteriously turned into ogres. At first the children blame each other for their condition. When they finished blaming each other, they worked together to find a cure. They searched the house for a cure…but they could not find one. They tried to wash the ogre off…but it stayed on.

They had all but given up when sissy’s phone accidently falls into the fish tank. When the phone gets wet, a hidden message appears: YOU WERE TURNED INTO OGRES, BECAUSE ON THE PHONE YOU DID STAY! NOW, PUT IT AWAY AND GO OUT AND PLAY!

So the children rushed outside, where they returned to normal. That day the children learned a valuable lesson. OVERUSED CELL PHONES TURN CHILDREN INTO OGRES.

Review:

Before I give you my review, I have to tell you a true story. I was behind a busload of kids coming home from school. As soon as each one of their little feetsies hit the gravel, they were on their cell phones and it made me say right out loud, "Boy if that isn't the sign of the times." I can't really knock owning a cell phone as a child. I'm sure I would have been doing the same thing had I had one back then. But I'm kinda glad I didn't because I would have joined thousands upon thousands of other little kids who relied on wifi to round out my world. Not that gleaming information from the information highway wasn't a bad thing, but cell phones I think kinda take away from the whole experience of being a child.

Nomophobia was a cute little book with awesome illustrations. Instead of sounding preachy, we read a story about kids who suddenly in their sleep wake up looking green. Well, they're ogres. Nothing they can do will change them back to their original cell-loving kid bodies. The story tells us how the kids tried to find ways to get rid of their ogre-ness and with the illustrations, they were downright hilarious. I won't tell you how they got out of it (if they did of course) but this book is such an enjoyable read.

With that said, I loved loved loved Nomophobia.  

NOMOPHOBIA is available at Amazon at 
https://amzn.to/3Fwczvq

Thursday, December 2, 2021

Interview with Children's Picture Book Author JD Wise

 


JD Wise is a West Virginian-born author who believes that the world can be changed for the better, by one person, one time, doing the right thing.

“Just think what would happen if we all did that,” said Wise.

Wise is happily married to the love of his life. Together, they have four wonderful children, who are the true inspiration for the book.

Nomophobia is his latest children’s book.

Visit him on Instagram and Facebook.

Thanks for this interview, JD.  I've always wanted to write children's books.  When did you determine that writing for children was for you?

I had the idea that maybe I could take new ideas and turn them into a learning experience through the pages of a book.  

What was the inspiration behind your children's book, Nomophobia?

Finding an interesting way to inspire children to put down their phone's. To get them to realize that they could be missing out on things that surround them that they can enjoy and benefit more from.  

How do you get into the mind of a child to create a fun reading experience?  Are you around kids?  Are you a kid at heart?

I look back on the things that caught my attention when I was a child and I compare it to what kids today may be interested in.  I also try to include an awesome learning experience through reading in order to make it fun.  Yes, I am around kids mostly everyday.  I am definitely a giant child!

What was your favorite book as a child?

Berenstain Bears Collection, by Stan and Jan Berenstain (I loved them all)

What kind of advice would you give to writers who would like to write children's books?

When you feel like you haven't done enough, do a little more.  This can pertain to all steps of writing a children's book.  

What are your goals for the future?  More children's books?

Well, Somewhere Over the Rainbow; it would be fun if Nomophobia was turned into a movie, or even a Broadway play.  The cast would be so easy to find.  You can't even go to the grocery store without seeing 30+ kids on their phones.  But on this side of the rainbow, I am going to keep writing more children's books.

BOOK BLURB:


Welcome to NOMOPHOBIA – A PLACE IN TIME WHERE OVERUSED CELLULAR DEVICES TURN CHILDREN INTO OGRES.

This is a somewhat true, mostly exaggerated story of modern-day children – children who have spent way too much time on their phones. One night the children are mysteriously turned into ogres. At first the children blame each other for their condition. When they finished blaming each other, they worked together to find a cure. They searched the house for a cure…but they could not find one. They tried to wash the ogre off…but it stayed on.

They had all but given up when sissy’s phone accidently falls into the fish tank. When the phone gets wet, a hidden message appears: YOU WERE TURNED INTO OGRES, BECAUSE ON THE PHONE YOU DID STAY! NOW, PUT IT AWAY AND GO OUT AND PLAY!

So the children rushed outside, where they returned to normal. That day the children learned a valuable lesson. OVERUSED CELL PHONES TURN CHILDREN INTO OGRES.