Friday, October 30, 2015

Book Feature: Animals Have Feelings, Too! by Karen Lee Stevens



Title: Animals Have Feelings, Too!: Exploring Emotions From A to Z
Author: Karen Lee Stevens
Publisher: All for Animals
Pages: 32
Genre: Children’s Picture Book

Filled with humor and whimsical illustrations, this enchanting and educational A to Z guide takes young readers on a journey through the alphabet with a lovable Labrador retriever named Sandy, who shows kids that animals and people share many of the same feelings. From A is for Affectionate to Z is for Zonked, Animals Have Feelings, Too! helps children to understand and express their feelings and to treat animals with kindness and respect.

For More Information

  • Animals Have Feelings, Too!: Exploring Emotions From A to Z is available at Amazon.
  • Discuss this book at PUYB Virtual Book Club at Goodreads.
Book Excerpt:

Hi Kids,

My name is Sandy and I’m a yellow Labrador retriever. Most of the time, I’m a happy-go-lucky pup, but once in awhile, I feel lonely or grumpy, too. Just like you, I experience lots of different emotions (that’s a BIG word for feelings).

When I’m happy, I wag my tail and let out a soft ruff-ruff-ruff as if to say Let’s play! When I’m annoyed or frightened, I may grumble and growl, meaning Back off, buddy! Stay away!

My feline friend, Willow, likes to remind me that I’m not perfect, but I love her anyhow. And that’s why I’ve asked her to help me introduce you to my very favorite feeling words. I hope you’ll share them with your human family and, of course, your furry and feathered friends!

Love,
Sandy

Book Review: New Pony Day! by Jen K. Blom



Title: New Pony Day!
Author: Jen K. Blom
Publisher: Jen K. Blom
Pages: 28
Genre: Children’s Picture Book

Today’s the day Josie gets her new pony – if she can find him, that is! Her cat Pasta’s along for the ride, too, but there’s no telling if he’ll help or not – he’s a cat!

For More Information


My Review:

If any children's book on the market today comes close to having the most adorable illustrations, it has to be New Pony Day! by Jen K. Blom.  What a delightful children's story and what a unique premise!

If you ever craved having a pony as a child like I did, you will absolutely love this charming story.  Josie and her pet cat, Pasta, are off to pick out a pony.  The illustrations and whimsical rhyme puts you in Josie's head for sure - she is sooooo excited!  But there are so many to choose from!

She imagines what she will do with her pony from rescuing captured knights to having a playhouse in the trees just for her new pony, herself and Pasta.  Again, I can't tell you how much I am enjoying these illustrations that go along with the story - it brings this children's picture book to life.

If your child is a pony lover and lucky enough to be searching for her/his perfect pony, this would make a great book - it would add to the excitement!

Jen K. Blom did an excellent job writing this book keeping you glued to each page.  I loved it and would recommend it to the pre-school kiddos.  I give this delightful children's picture book 5 rainbows and look forward to reading other books by Ms. Blom.

My Rating:


Monday, October 26, 2015

Book Review: Zenji & the Muzzy Bug: The Mindful & Magical Sleep Solution (Buddabugzz Sleepwell Book 1) by Aisli Madden

Title: Zenji & the Muzzy Bug: The Mindful & Magical Sleep Solution (Buddabugzz Sleepwell Book 1)
Author: Aisli Madden
Publisher: www.DesignBOS.ie; 2 edition (October 5, 2015)
Pages: 32
Genre: Children’s Picture Book

Book Summary:

Zenji the Buddabug is feeling rather unwell. He is stuck in bed and he’s extremely bored… That’s until his buddy Karma appears and takes him on a magical adventure… inside Zenji’s body!
After listening to Karma’s relaxation rhyme, Zenji is transported inside his own body where he heals himself from within, and becomes more relaxed with each breath he takes.

Buddabugzz bedtime stories are infused with well-being and mindfulness techniques that help develop self-confidence and positive thinking from the earliest age. Each title is purposely designed to encourage sleep at bedtime and to safeguard and nurture children’s mental health from infancy.

Age Level: 0 – 8   Grade Level: P – 2   32 pages

My Review: 

What a delightful children's picture book!  Zenji is a Buddabug who has caught a Muzzy Bug.  Karma, the little voice inside his head, pops out of nowhere and tells Zenji that he needs to believe in a little magic.  Zenji begins a magical tour within himself and makes himself feel better.  What I loved most about this picture book were the illustrations. I would close the book and read it again just to see all the vibrant colors again.  Aisli Madden has a great concept - a more holistic approach to being sick and proves the point that if we believe in our healing powers within ourselves, we heal much faster.  Loved it!

I give this book 5 rainbows!


Tuesday, October 6, 2015

Book Feature: Little Boy Gan From Passion-Filled Everland & Reimburse the Universe by Lisa McDonald



Title: Little Boy Gan From Passion-Filled Everland
Author: Lisa McDonald
Publisher: Lisa McDonald
Pages: 36
Genre: Children’s Picture Book 

McDonald’s first book, LITTLE BOY GAN FROM PASSION-FILLED EVERLAND, tells the story of ten-year-old Gan. Gan is humble and wise with a loving spirit that he shares with the animals he meets in the magical forest where the story takes place. The curious animals watch Gan and observe his kindness and humility. Soon they seek the boy out to learn the secret of his happiness. The old soul gives his new friends advice on humility, passion, compassion, and paying it forward. The impact Gan has on the animals is life changing. The lessons they learn lead to expressions of gratitude for their individual gifts and embolden them to share their passions with the world.

For More Information

  • Little Boy Gan From Passion-Filled Everland is available at Amazon.
Title: Reimburse the Universe
Author: Lisa McDonald
Publisher: Lisa McDonald
Pages: 36
Genre: Children’s Picture Book
In REIMBURSE THE UNIVERSE, a diverse cast of characters continue the theme of people sharing their best selves with the world. The message of this book focuses on giving back to the universe by honoring and respecting ourselves and others and understanding that all human beings are part of a collective whole. Each page in the book offers examples of how individuals can give back to the collective out of appreciation for the many gifts that the universe has provided all of us.

For More Information

  • Reimburse the Universe is available at Amazon.


About the Author


Lisa McDonald is an author and radio host. Her children’s books, LITTLE BOY GAN FROM PASSION-FILLED EVERLAND and REIMBURSE THE UNIVERSE, take readers, young and old, on journeys with diverse characters that teach lessons of acceptance, understanding, and sharing. Lisa’s radio program, Carpe Diem, promotes personal empowerment and showcases world-renowned authors, speakers, and musicians.

Writing has been a long-time passion for Lisa. “I have been writing since the age of five. I always wrote poetry, short stories, anthologies, essays. My maternal grandmother foresaw me being a writer/author from a very young age and encouraged me to pursue it. As a result of reinventing myself due to a change in personal/familial circumstances, it became clear to me that writing was not meant to be a hobby but rather my vocation.”

Lisa’s third and fourth books, PLANET POME-GRANITE and KISMET TALES FROM HAPPY TRAILS, are forthcoming in late 2015 and early 2016.

For More Information

Monday, September 28, 2015

Book Review: Yell and Shout Cry and Pout: A Kid's Guide to Feelings



Title: Yell and Shout Cry and Pout: A Kid’s Guide to Feelings
Author: Peggy Kruger Tietz
Publisher: Independent
Pages: 40
Genre: Children’s Picture Book
Format: Paperback/Kindle/Nook

Yell and Shout, Cry and Pout: A Kid's Guide to Feelings is an essential guidebook for adults in steering children through the confusing behaviors that emotions evoke.  When you understand the purpose of emotions, behavior becomes understandable.  Each of the eight emotions is clearly defined thorough vignettes and illustrations, keeping both adult and child captivated, thus creating an opportune time for discussion. By recognizing that all humans experience these emotions throughout their lives, the book provides a true sense of comfort. Emotions are not to be shunned, but rather embraced and explained to provide a positive development environment for all children.

For More Information

  • Yell and Shout Cry and Pout is available at Amazon.
  • Pick up your copy at Barnes & Noble.
  • Discuss this book at PUYB Virtual Book Club at Goodreads.
Book Review:

As a mother, I can understand a child feeling emotions and not knowing what to do about it.  So, they either lash out, cry, have a temper tantrum, even to the point where they bully other children.  Thank goodness there's a new book out to help children understand their emotions that doesn't talk down to them; but instead, helps them understand what is going on.   

Yell and Shout, Cry and Pout: A Kid's Guide to Feelings by Peggy Kruger Tietz is a book every child needsWhile I'm sure there are other books out there that touches on the subject of children's emotions, this one struck a good cord with me.

Ms. Tiez explains the basic eight kinds of emotions the child goes through and helps them deal with it in rhyme and easy-to-understand scenarios that your child could relate to. I would have loved to have read this to my own children if they were younger.  Now grown, I bet that would have helped them deal with their emotions as an adult.

This book puts emotions in a new light so that children can learn how to deal with certain situations they feel are out of control.  Instead of themselves going out of control, it helps them to understand that all emotions are normal.  If a child feels sad, happy, or one of the other six emotions, Tietz helps them through this in a way I've not read in any other kind of book of this nature.  Packed with illustrations, they tend to help the child form a visual as the mother is reading or if the child is old enough, they are reading.

This book would make a great gift for your child this Christmas, on their birthday, or maybe even a special treat when emotions have taken over them.

I highly recommend this book and give it 5 rainbows.

My Rating:


Tuesday, September 1, 2015

Book Feature: The Search for the Stone of Excalibur by Fiona Ingram



Title: The Search for the Stone of Excalibur
Author: Fiona Ingram
Publisher: Biblio Publishing
Pages: 376
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Format: Paperback/Kindle/Nook

Book Summary:

Continuing the adventure that began in Egypt a few months prior in The Secret of the Sacred Scarab, cousins Adam and Justin Sinclair are hot on the trail of the second Stone of Power, one of seven ancient stones lost centuries ago. This stone might be embedded in the hilt of a newly discovered sword that archaeologists believe belonged to King Arthur: Excalibur. However, their long-standing enemy, Dr. Khalid, is following them as they travel to Scotland to investigate an old castle. Little do they know there is another deadly force, the Eaters of Poison, who have their own mission to complete. Time is running out as the confluence of the planets draws closer. Can Justin and Adam find the second Stone of Power and survive? And why did Aunt Isabel send a girl with them?

Join Justin and Adam as they search not only for the second Stone of Power, but also for the Scroll of the Ancients, a mysterious document that holds important clues to the Seven Stones of Power. As their adventure unfolds, they learn many things and face dangers that make even their perils in
Egypt look tame. And how annoying for them that their tag-along companion, Kim, seems to have such good ideas when they are stumped. Book extras include some historical background on King Arthur, the Dark Ages, warfare and weaponry during Arthur’s time, and details on Excalibur. A fascinating peek into the life and times of the real King Arthur, perfect for young time travelers and budding archaeologists.

For More Information

  • The Search for the Stone of Excalibur is available at Amazon.
  • Pick up your copy at Barnes & Noble.
  • Discuss this book at PUYB Virtual Book Club at Goodreads.
  • Find out the latest on  the book at Facebook.
Book Excerpt:

Adam shivered in the chilly air. It was hard to tell if it was early morning or late evening because the moon was still visible, a pale disc hanging in a dark gray sky. Ragged shreds of clouds scudded across the moon’s face, casting strange shadows on the ground in front of him. Mist floated around his ankles and swirled in soft eddies when he moved his feet. In front of him lay an open field, grayish green in the dim light. Farther away, he saw the mound of a huge hill. Adam got the feeling he had fallen through a hole in time—back to the Dark Ages, back to Arthur’s era.

He heard a faint howling noise in the distance. Wolves? Adam froze with fear. He desperately tried to remember whether there had still been wolves in England during the Dark Ages. There must have been because there was no other sound quite like the howl of a wolf. The hairs on his arms rose as he heard the howl again. Although he pinched himself to wake up, it was no good; he remained in the dream. At the sound of distant hoof beats, he shrank back against a large tree trunk. There was no time to run away because suddenly the drumming hooves were all around him. Then came the faint melancholy wail of a battle horn and the tinny sound of chinking metal. He could hear the crisp snap-snap of fluttering pennants and when he turned, he glimpsed banners waving among the trees. The surge of spectral riders halted and one man, seated on a white horse, appeared at the head of the cavalcade.

The eerie figure came closer, the horse lifting its feet carefully, clip-clopping right up to the trembling boy. The horse was huge, its trappings gleaming with pinpoints of metal rosettes, its long tail and mane hanging like ghostly cobwebs in the pale moonlight. The beast snorted and stamped restlessly. Adam saw the burnished glint of a helmet with a dragon-shaped crest topped by a red plume. Although the cheek pieces of the helmet obscured the man’s features, the shadowy figure was looking right at him. A red cloak swirled around the warrior’s body and, as the fabric swung aside, Adam saw the gleam of chain mail and the dark shape of a breastplate on the man’s chest. The warrior’s armor seemed more Roman than he expected. A banner flapped from the spear of a man behind the warrior: a red dragon on a white background. The warrior raised one arm, and a roar erupted as the sounds of cheering burst from what seemed to be thousands of throats. Although Adam heard strange words in another language, somehow he understood what the voices said.

“Hail the Pendragon!”

Adam was so close that he could have reached out and touched the rider. The spectral figure drew his sword from its scabbard and held it aloft. It seemed to Adam that he saw every detail with strangely magnified clarity. It was the same sword from the museum, but it looked so different now. The metal gleamed with a peculiar bluish sheen. Curious characters embossed the length of the blade. At the top, just under the crossguard, was a small circle with a seven-pointed star inside it. Sparkling gems decorated the hilt and pommel, with two dragons’ heads facing inward on the crossguard. The stone between the dragons’ open mouths glowed brilliant red. Suddenly, a fiery, almost blinding light shot from the stone, dazzling him. The white horse reared on its hindquarters. The radiant beam lit up the forest as the warrior whirled the blade around his head several times. Adam fell to his knees, shaking with a mixture of terror and excitement as he realized the second Stone of Power was embedded in the sword of Arthur. But the stone in the museum sword was nothing like this one.

About the Author:



Fiona Ingram was born and educated in South Africa, and has worked as a full-time journalist and editor. Her interest in ancient history, mystery, and legends, and her enjoyment of travel has resulted in the multi award winning The Secret of the Sacred Scarab, the first in her exciting children’s adventure series—Chronicles of the Stone. Fiona has just published the second book entitled The Search for the Stone of Excalibur, a treat for young King Arthur fans. She is busy with Book 3 entitled The Temple of the Crystal Timekeeper.

For More Information

Tuesday, August 25, 2015

Book Review: Angels, Angels, Everywhere by Michelle Beber



Title: Angels, Angels, Everywhere
Author: Michelle Beber
Publisher: Balboa Press
Pages: 30
Genre: Juvenile Fiction/Children’s Picture Book
Format: Paperback/Kindle/Nook

Angels, Angels, Everywhere is a non-denominational, multiracial book written in delightful rhythm and rhyme and accompanied by charming illustrations.  The themes of constant support and unconditional love are designed to help children deal with everyday experiences in life.

By developing children’s faith in knowing that they are not alone and building their trust that they are consistently watched over, cared for, and loved, children will become empowered to deal with life’s challenges.  The book also lets children know that angels are there in good times as well, sharing in their joy.

For More Information

My Review:

Do you believe in angels?  Most of us do, but how do we let children know that they are there to help us without being all new agey on them?  Michelle Beber's Angels, Angels, Everywhere is a fantastic illustrated children's book that approaches the subject with children in mind.  Told in rhymes, it explains to children what to do when they are sad, mad or even happy!  This is particularly helpful to help children with their emotions instead of acting out.  Nothing new agey about this book.  I would definitely buy it for my child if she or he was young.  It doesn't get into deep technical stuff either keeping it child friendly.  This book would make a great Christmas gift for the child or grandchild in your life.  I give this 5 rainbows!

My Rating:


Friday, July 31, 2015

Book Review: Ben's School Daze by Robyn Sims & Joanne Larco



Title: Ben’s School Daze
Authors: Robyn Sims and Joanne Larcom
Publisher: Peence & Rogue Designs Pty Ltd
Pages: 28
Genre: Children’s Picture Book

Purchase here.

Book Synopsis:
This is a story about Ben, a lively and active boy, who finds the sensory experiences within his day to be overwhelming.  

Loud noises vibrate through his body and “shoes and sock bother him.. they never feel just right”.  

This can make it hard for Ben to be a good student.  But don’t worry, his teacher and mum know what to do to help him through his day.

My Review:

If you have a child you feel that gets over stimulated at times, you'll love Ben's School Daze by Robyn Sims & Joanne Larsom.  I didn't have that problem with my kids; in fact, when I would see a child act up in public, I would say to myself thank God he's not mine.  But I didn't stop to think that maybe it was his surroundings or other factors and not that he was a "bad child"?  That's what I believe the authors thought of when they went to write this book.  But what I like about it is that it's not a how to book for adults in handling over-sensory pileup in their child, but a children's book to show the child they are normal.  We need more of these kinds of books for the simple reason that we don't want these children to feel they are different.

This story evolves around Ben who it seems is always on the go.  But sometimes things get out of whack for him.  He acts up apparently for no reason.  How many kids do that?  Lots and it makes you wonder if they have the same thing going on as Ben.  Now Ben will admit himself he doesn't like it when he acts up but doesn't know why it's happening.  Everything makes him upset and it's driving him beserk.  But his teacher understands and offers things for him to fidget with or jobs to do and this helps but doesn't make it go away when he's out of the classroom.  The point of this story is not only to show other children who might be going through this sort of thing that they're normal and can get help, but to show adults how to handle their children when this happens to them.

I love the illustrations - very whimsical and gave a good picture of what is going on in Ben's life.  The author did a marvelous job with this book and for that I give the five rainbows.

My Ranking:

 

Thursday, July 9, 2015

Book Review: The Poofiest Pong by Katherine Graham #children



Title: The Poofiest Pong
Author: Katherine Graham
Publisher: Katherine Graham
Pages: 18
Genre: Children’s Picture Book
Format: Kindle

Book Synopsis:
How do you measure the poofiness of your pongs? This is a question that baffles Max, the budding inventor. But with the help of his pong-o-meter and his little brother's farts, Max and Billy are well on their way to blasting off for an adventure in outer space.

My Review: 

Who hasn't spit out the poofiest pongs lately?  We all have and that's what Katherine Graham's adorable yet quirky new children's book, The Poofiest Pong, is all about. Billy Burnham is a precocious little boy who notices such things as the different levels of "pong" that his family produces.  If you haven't guessed, "pong" is a fart.  One day he decides to create a pong-o-meter and the antics following his measurements of everyone's "pongs" is quite hilarious and I know your child will be enthralled with this story!  What I thought was so endearing about this book is how little Billy thinks to even create a pong-o-meter.  What we could do with one of those!  I won't spoil what happens after that but if your child is into rockets and aliens, he/she will love this!

I give this book 5 rainbows!

 

Wednesday, July 8, 2015

Book Review: Candy's Chocolate Kingdom #children #bookreview



Title: Candy’s Chocolate Kingdom(Book 1: Kingdom Fantasy Series)
Author: Nirit Littaney
Publisher: Nirit Littaney
Pages: 26
Genre: Children
Format: Kindle

Book Synopsis:
Meet Candy, the cute girl who loves chocolate so much she dreams about it at night. Grab some sweets and follow Candy though a Magical Chocolate Kingdom that fills her belly and teaches her an important lesson about limits, after something very unexpected happens in the delicious empire. 

Though the vivid illustrations are sure to make your mouth water, Candy’s new understanding is the real treat even you can munch on! 

Excellent for beginner's readers and children ages 3-6. Book 1 in the Kingdom Fantasy series.

My Review:

Being a chocolate lover, I was tempted to pass this one up because I just knew when I started looking through these colorful illustrations, I'd be headed out to the convenience store down the street to pick me up a Three Musketeers.  Anything chocolate just like the little girl, Candy, in Nirit Littaney's new children's picture book, Candy's Chocolate Kingdom

Here's what I absolutely love about this children's book.  As an adult, you almost know when you should stop (even if you don't), but all children know is that it tastes like heaven and they just keep on eating it even though it's going to eventually give them a belly-ache.  Graham handles it beautifully by sending Candy off to the Chocolate Kingdom to show Candy what will happen if she eats too much chocolate.

This children's picture book would be adorable for a child in your family who craves chocolate or any candy for that matter.  If you have a chocolate lover in your family, or know someone who does, tell them about Candy's Chocolate Kingdom by Nirit Littaney.

I give this book 5 rainbows.


Wednesday, June 24, 2015

A Twitter Pitch Party for Children's Picture Books!


Do you have a children's picture book just waiting for the right agent or publisher to pick you up?  Announce it today at the Twitter Pitch Party for exclusively for children's picture books!

To find out more, click here.

To follow the tweets or add your own tweet, go to www.twitter.com and add #PBPitch to your tweets and good luck!

Tuesday, June 16, 2015

Book Review: Divorce & Children by Arthur Nazaretin

Title: Divorce & Children
Author: Arthur Nazaretin
Genre: Parenting
Publisher: Self
Pages: 26

In these times, you can't have too many advice guides on how to handle divorce where children are concerned.  I don't usually review anything other than children's picture books keeping to the children's picture book theme, but as I am a product of divorce not only as an adult but also as a child of divorced parents, and the fact that the ebook was free in the Kindle store today, I thought I'd give it a shot.  I've read and reviewed many of the shorter books in the Kindle store and some feel like they are advertisements for the author's other books (and they are; it's part of a new marketing ploy), but I didn't feel that way with Divorce & Children by Arthur Nazaretin.

When my parents' marriage broke up, I was almost ten.  From a child's standpoint, it's an isolating type of thing.  You feel as if you're the only one going through such a traumatic event.  If you were an adult, you could use reasoning; but for a child, it's as if their world has been ripped from under them.  Even though this book is really short (26 pages), it's jam packed full of some really good ideas on how to handle the situation if you have children who are very much involved.  One tip I really liked was to try to keep the tears and the worries away from your child so that he/she feels as if you are in control.  Break down and the child breaks down with you.  When my own marriage was crumbling, I didn't hold anything back from the kids and looking back I wish I had.  I also like the parts that mentioned spending quality time with your children during this crisis.  Overall, the book's theme is leaning more on how to teach you - the adult - how to handle divorce without killing the kid's emotional resources.  Even though this book was short, it was to the point with no filler and is quite a good little reference book.  

My Rating: 
4 Rainbows


Monday, June 15, 2015

In the Mailbox: Angels, Angels Everywhere by Michelle Beber


I can't wait to get started reading this one.  I am a firm believer in angels!

Here's what the book is about:

Angels, Angels, Everywhere is a non-denominational, multiracial book written in delightful rhythm and rhyme and accompanied by charming illustrations.  The themes of constant support and unconditional love are designed to help children deal with everyday experiences in life.

By developing children’s faith in knowing that they are not alone and building their trust that they are consistently watched over, cared for, and loved, children will become empowered to deal with life’s challenges.  The book also lets children know that angels are there in good times as well, sharing in their joy.




Friday, June 12, 2015

Video: How to Write & Publish Your Children's Book in the Kindle Store in 7 Days or Less

If you only knew how many children's books I have in files just waiting to be published, you would scream at me for not doing anything with them.  These children's books were written years ago - before the Kindle store - and I think I was just waiting for a traditional publisher anyway. After all, what child reads ebooks?  Well, fast forward to 2015 and there's a lot of children out there reading books on their handheld readers.  So if you had a children's book in your files and wanted to self-publish them to the Kindle store, where would you start?  Aren't images expensive?  Here's a video I found that gives us procrastinators some hope.

Thursday, February 5, 2015

Book Review: Milo's Reading Adventures by Debbie Madson

Title:Milo's Reading Adventures
Author: Debbie Madson
Genre:Children's Picture Book
Publisher: Debbie Madson
Pages: 22

Summer is fast approaching and kids will be out of school planning fun things to do and usually it does not include reading (something they've already been doing for nine long months).  I remember summer vacation - no more school, no more books, no more teacher's dirty looks!  Unfortunately, our society has a problem with getting children and teenagers to read for fun.  Along comes Milo's Reading Adventures and now there is hope!   Here's one thing about this book that I really really liked - it encourages literacy amongst our children once they read this book.  It's free at Amazon for a limited time (click title above to take you to Amazon).  Believe me, this is a really entertaining book.  The cover is so cute!  But inside the storyline accompanied by the beautiful illustrations will definitely encourage your child to read by reading about a little boy whose mother came up with a delightful way to get her child to read throughout the summer by giving him an incentive.

Because I feel this book would be a great thing to pass on to your child and encourage literacy in our youth, I give this book five rainbows.

My Rating: 
5 Rainbows